Our Georgia History

Baldwin County, Georgia
May 11, 1803 Baldwin County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Baldwin County, Georgia
  Abraham Baldwin
November 2, 1807 First session of the state legislature to be held in Milledgeville
  Baldwin County, Georgia
December 10, 1807 Baldwin County reduced and expanded
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Baldwin County, Georgia
April 20, 1868 Atlanta becomes Georgia's state capital
  Baldwin County, Georgia
  Atlanta becomes Georgia's capital
November 18, 1883 Carl Vinson born near Milledgeville, Baldwin County, GA
  Carl Vinson, Father of the Two Ocean Navy
  Baldwin County, Georgia
August 3, 1964 Flannery O'Connor died, Baldwin County Hospital, Milledgeville, from complications resulting from lupus.
  Baldwin County, Georgia
  Flannery O'Connor

Name derivation:Named in honor of Abraham Baldwin, who signed the U. S. Constitution and founded the University of Georgia.
Acquisition: Treaty of Fort Wilkerson (Creek, 1802), Treaty of Fort Wilkerson (Creek, 1805)
Taken from:Original county
Counties created from:Morgan County, Jones County, Putnam County, Jasper County
Cities:Milledgeville (county seat)

Web sites:
National Register of Historic Places in Baldwin County, Georgia
Baldwin County, Georgia, links

History and Description: Baldwin County was the site of Elijah Clarke's Transoconee Expedition. He built Fort Defiance on the site of present-day Milledgeville (named for Governor John Milledge). In 1804 Milledgeville became capital of the state and would retain that title until 1868, when the military governors of Georgia moved the capital to Atlanta. In 1807 Baldwin was split into five smaller counties (Morgan, Jones, Putnam, Jasper and Baldwin) and extended westward.

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy