Our Georgia History

Barrow County, Georgia
July 7, 1914 Barrow County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Barrow County, Georgia

Name derivation:Named in honor of David Crenshaw Barrow, who served as teacher and Chancellor of the University of Georgia
Acquisition:Cherokee cession of July 8, 1817 and Creek Cession of Jan. 22, 1818
Taken from: Gwinnett, Jackson and Walton
Counties created from: None
Cities: Winder (county seat), Carl, Auburn, Statham, Bethlehem
Web sites:National Register of Historic Places in Barrow County, Georgia
Barrow County, Georgia, links

History and description:
Barrow County

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy