Our Georgia History

Bleckly County, Georgia
June 30, 1912 Bleckley County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Bleckly County, Georgia
  Logan E. Bleckley
March 31, 1961 F3 tornado strikes Dooly County, killing 1 and injuring 14. More than 2.5 million dollars in damage. Tornadoes also strike Schley, Houstoun, Pulaski, Bleckley, Laurens, Worth and Tattnall counties.
  Tattnall County, Georgia
  Laurens County, Georgia
  Houston County, Georgia
  Schley County, Georgia
  Dooly County, Georgia
  Bleckly County, Georgia
  Worth County, Georgia
  Pulaski County, Georgia
  Georgia Tornadoes

Name derivation:Named in honor of Logan Edwin Bleckley, popular attorney and chief justice of Georgia perhaps most noted for completing his college education at the University of Georgia in four days (self-educated, he already knew the material).
Acquisition: Creek cession of June 16, 1802
Taken from:
Counties created from:

Web sites:
National Register of Historic Places in Bleckley County, Georgia
Bleckley County, Georgia, links

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy