Our Georgia History

Campbell County, Georgia
December 20, 1828 Campbell County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Campbell County, Georgia
May 9, 1932 Portions of Cherokee, Gwinnett and Cobb Counties, along with all of Campbell County and Milton County are ceded to Fulton County.
  Campbell County, Georgia
  Fulton County, Georgia
  Gwinnett County, Georgia
  Cherokee County, Georgia
  Cobb County, Georgia

Name derivation: Named in honor of Duncan G. Campbell, one of the United States Commissioners who signed the Treaty of Indian Springs
Taken from: Carroll, Coweta, DeKalb, and Fayette counties
Counties created from: Douglas, Fulton (added to Fulton in 1932)
Cities: Campbellton was once the county site, but the site was abandoned when the county merged into Fulton County in 1932
Web sites:
History and description: One of the victims of the Great Depression, Campbell County, GA was merged with Fulton County in an effort to save money. Milton County was merged at the same time.

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy