Our Georgia History

Carroll County, Georgia
June 9, 1825 Carroll County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Carroll County, Georgia
  Charles Carroll
June 1, 1830 Hall, Habersham, Carroll, Dekalb and Gwinnett Counties are now responsible for enforcing civil law in the Cherokee Nation, at least as far as the state of Georgia is concerned
  Original Cherokee County
  Hall County, Georgia
  Habersham County, Georgia
  Carroll County, Georgia
  DeKalb County, Georgia
  Gwinnett County, Georgia
January 3, 1999 Student dead, another injured in shooting at Central High, Carrollton, GA (Carroll County, Georgia)
  Carroll County, Georgia
August 29, 2005 Tornadoes from hurricane Katrina destroy homes and chicken houses in Carroll County and a motel and businesses in the Helen area of White County. Others injured people in Spaulding County and Peach County
  Carroll County, Georgia
  White County, Georgia
  Hurricane Katrina
  Spalding County, Georgia
  Peach County, Georgia
May 11, 2008 11 tornadoes touch down in the state of Georgia.
  Bibb County, Georgia
  Laurens County, Georgia
  Johnson County, Georgia
  Fulton County, Georgia
  Clayton County, Georgia
  Carroll County, Georgia
  Gwinnett County, Georgia
  Georgia Tornadoes

Name derivation: Named in honor of Charles Carroll, who signed the Declaration of Independence for Maryland
Acquisition: Creek cessions of January 24, 1826 and November 15, 1827
Taken from: Original county
Counties created from: Campbell County, GA, Douglas County, GA, Haralson County, GA, Heard County, GA
Cities: Carrollton (county seat), Bowdon, Roopville, Whitesburg, Villa Rica
Web sites:National Register of Historic Places in Carroll County, Georgia
Carroll County, Georgia, links
Carroll County, GA

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy