Our Georgia History

Chatham County, Georgia
March 15, 1758 8 parishes are created in Georgia, mostly for military and religious purposes
  Eight parishes established
  Burke County, Georgia
  Chatham County, Georgia
  Effingham County, Georgia
  Liberty County, Georgia
  Richmond County, Georgia
February 5, 1777 Chatham County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Chatham County, Georgia
April 5, 1957 Tornadoes strike Lamar, Schley, Macon, Peach, Warren, Columbia, Colquitt, Ware, and Chatham counties, killing 2 and injuring 6, with more than a million dollars in damage.
  Colquitt County, Georgia
  Columbia County, Georgia
  Georgia Tornadoes
  Lamar County, Georgia
  Schley County, Georgia
  Macon County, Georgia
  Peach County, Georgia
  Warren County, Georgia
  Ware County, Georgia
  Chatham County, Georgia
June 12, 1981 Chatham County indicts Jim Williams for murder
  Chatham County, Georgia
  Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil
December 20, 2000 The Gift, starring Cate Blanchett, Keanu Reeves, Giovanni Ribisi, Greg Kinnear, Hilary Swank and Michael Jeter, opens in limited release. It was filmed in Effingham County, Georgia and featured scenes shot in the Georgia cities of Springfield, Savannah, Thunderbolt, and Guyton.
  Chatham County, Georgia
  City of Savannah, Georgia
  Effingham County, Georgia
  Movies filmed in Georgia
May 7, 2004 Sonny Perdue orders a state of emergency in Georgia related to the G-8 Summit to be held on Sea Island. The order covered 6 Georgia counties, Chatham, Bryan, Libery, McIntosh, Glynn and Camden.
  Glynn County, Georgia
  McIntosh County, Georgia
  Liberty County, Georgia
  Bryan County, Georgia
  Chatham County, Georgia
  Camden County, Georgia
  Sonny Perdue

Name derivation: Named in honor of William Pitt, the Earl of Chatham, the same man for whom the city of Pittsburg is named.
Acquisition: Creek cession of May 21, 1733
Taken from: Original county; Parishes of St. Philip and Christ Church before the Revolution.
Counties created from: Bryan County, Georgia
Cities: Savannah (county seat), Bloomingdale, Thunderbolt, Tybee Island, Isle of Hope (area), Garden City, Pooler, Port Wentworth, Bloomingdale, Vernonburg
Web sites:
National Register of Historic Places in Chatham County, Georgia
Chatham County, Georgia, links
City of Savannah

History and description: Georgia's Chatham County was organized from two earlier political divisions, Christ Church Parish and a portion of St. Phillip's Parish. Chatham was the site of the first landing of English settlers who established the colony of Georgia in 1733 (downtown Savannah). The initial settlement grew to 1,100 people when the trustees created the county of Savannah in 1741. William Stevens was put in charge of the city, while James Oglethorpe led Frederica. When Oglethorpe departed the state once again became a single political body. When the state was once again broken into parishes in 1757, today's Chatham County was entirely contained in Christ Church Parish.

Chatham was the center of Revolutionary Georgia, and fell under British control in 1778. A battle in 1779 saw the defeat of American forces, and Chatham stayed under the control of Britain until forces under Royal Governor James Wright fled with him in 1782. Plantations were a major economic force until The Civil War. After the war Savannah grew not only as a port, but as a manufacturing city. One of the major products is paper.

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy