Our Georgia History

Clayton County, Georgia
November 30, 1858 Clayton County created
  Augustin Smith Clayton
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Clayton County, Georgia
August 20, 1864 Battle of Lovejoy's Station
  Civil War - 1864
  Clayton County, Georgia
  William Tecumseh Sherman
August 31, 1864 Battle of Jonesboro (Jonesborough)
September 1, 1864
  Clayton County, Georgia
  William Tecumseh Sherman
March 31, 1973 Clayton, Walton, Oconee, Clarke, and Oglethorpe Counties report nearly a billion dollars in damage, more than a hundred injuries and two deaths from a strong storm with embedded tornadoes
  Clarke County, Georgia
  Clayton County, Georgia
  Georgia Tornadoes
July 28, 1996 Karch Kiraly and Kent Steffes win the beach volleyball gold medal at Atlanta Beach in Clayton County. Mike Dodd and Mike Whitmarsh, also of the United States, won the silver
  Clayton County, Georgia
May 11, 2008 11 tornadoes touch down in the state of Georgia.
  Bibb County, Georgia
  Laurens County, Georgia
  Johnson County, Georgia
  Fulton County, Georgia
  Clayton County, Georgia
  Carroll County, Georgia
  Gwinnett County, Georgia
  Georgia Tornadoes
August 28, 2008 50,000-student Clayton County School System loses its accreditation
  Clayton County, Georgia

Name derivation:Named in honor of Augustin Smith Clayton, popular legislator and justice who was an erudite and vocal supporter of states rights.
Acquisition: Creek cession of Jan. 8, 1821
Taken from:Fayette, Henry
Counties created from:None
Cities:Jonesboro (county seat), Forest Park, Lake City, Morrow, Riverdale, Lovejoy

Web sites:
National Register of Historic Places in Clayton County, Georgia
Clayton County, Georgia, links

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy