Our Georgia History

Crawford County, Georgia
June 6, 1816 Benjamin Hawkins dies, Crawford County, Georgia
  Crawford County, Georgia
  Benjamin Hawkins
February 19, 1818 Johanna Troutman is born, Crawford County, Georgia. She is credited with designing the "Lone Star" flag.
  Crawford County, Georgia
December 9, 1822 Crawford County created
  William Harris (W. H.) Crawford
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Crawford County, Georgia
July 8, 1831 John Stith Pemberton born, Knoxville, GA. His middle name is sometimes misspelled as Styth.
  Crawford County, Georgia
  John Stith (Styth) Pemberton
November 18, 1835 Joanna Troutman presents the first Lone Star flag to Col. William Ward, commander of the Georgia Battalion. The Macon, Georgia-area troops were headed west to join in the fight for Texas independence.
  City of Macon, Georgia
  Crawford County, Georgia
  Lone Star Flag
March 13, 1954 Storms ripped through the state, including Chattahoochee, Taylor, Houstoun, Crawford, Bibb, Twiggs, Hall, Madison and Elbert County, killing 8 and injuring more than 100 people
  Bibb County, Georgia
  Elbert County, Georgia
  Crawford County, Georgia

Name derivation:Named in honor of William H. Crawford, whose anti-Indian stance and candidacy for President in 1816 made him a champion in the eyes of Georgians. The county was named before his second run for the presidency in 1824
Taken from: Houston
Counties created from: Upson
Cities: Roberta (county seat)

Web sites:
National Register of Historic Places in Crawford County, Georgia
Crawford County, Georgia, links

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy