Our Georgia History

Dawson County, Georgia
December 21, 1830 The Sixth Georgia Land Lottery, sometimes called the Cherokee Georgia lottery, is authorized by the General Assembly. The major difference between this lottery and the preceding five lotteries is that Georgia did not have a claim to the land it was giving away: The Cherokee had never ceded it.
  Cobb County, Georgia
  Georgia Land Lotteries
  Cherokee County, Georgia
  Lumpkin County, Georgia
  Dawson County, Georgia
  Union County, Georgia
  Whitfield County, Georgia
  Floyd County, Georgia
  Walker County, Georgia
  Cass County, Georgia
December 3, 1857 Dawson County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Dawson County, Georgia
December 17, 2009 Vice President Joe Biden presents the North Georgia Network, a new electrical cooperative, with $33 million stimulus grant in Dawsonville
  Dawson County, Georgia

Name derivation:Named in honor of William C. Dawson, who served in both the U. S. House and Senate.
Acquisition: Treaty of New Echota
Taken from: Gilmer County, Lumpkin County
Counties created from:None
Cities: Dawsonville (county seat)

Web sites:
National Register of Historic Places in Dawson County, Georgia
Archives of Dawson County, Georgia
Dade County, Georgia, links

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy