Our Georgia History

Douglas County, Georgia
October 17, 1870 Douglas County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Douglas County, Georgia
February 25, 1875 City of Douglasville (Douglas County) founded
  Douglas County, Georgia
April 23, 1971 Two waves of storms, which included tornadoes that registered F3 on the Fujita-Pearson scale, swept through Georgia destroying more than a million dollars in property, killing one person and injuring 23. Counties affected were Polk, Gwinnett, Douglas, Dekalb, Carroll, Screven, Paulding, Randolph, Houstoun, Troup, Macon, Dooly, Sumter, Chatham, Lanier, Tattnall, and Wilcox.
  Wilcox County, Georgia
  Douglas County, Georgia
  Georgia Tornadoes
March 29, 1991 Douglas and Cobb County were hit by F3 tornadoes as part of a much larger system. More than 50 million dollars damage was done, with 27 people injured
  Douglas County, Georgia
  Cobb County, Georgia
  Georgia Tornadoes
February 24, 2010 Elana Meyers from Douglasville, Georgia, and teammate Erin Pac won a bronze medal in the women's two-man bobsled competition during the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver.
  Douglas County, Georgia

Name derivation:Named in honor of Stephen A. Douglas, who supported the Missouri Comprimise and sponsored the Kansas-Nebraska Act (1854). He was the Democratic candidate for President in 1860.
Acquisition: Creek cession of November 15, 1827
Taken from: Campbell, Carroll
Counties created from: None
Cities: Douglasville, Lithia Springs

Web sites:
National Register of Historic Places in Douglas County, Georgia
Douglas County, Georgia, links

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy