Our Georgia History

Eight parishes established
March 15, 1758 8 parishes are created in Georgia, mostly for military and religious purposes
  Eight parishes established
  Burke County, Georgia
  Chatham County, Georgia
  Effingham County, Georgia
  Liberty County, Georgia
  Richmond County, Georgia

As the crown slowly changed Georgia from trustee rule it divided the land into eight parishes:

St. George (Burke County)
St. Phillip and Christ Church (Chatham County)
St. Mathew and St. Phillip (Effingham)
St. John, St. Andrew and St. James (Liberty County)
St. Paul (Richmond County).

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy