Our Georgia History

Franklin County, Georgia
May 31, 1783 In Augusta, the state of Georgia concludes a treaty based on the Long Swamp Treaty, which cedes a large tract of land in present-day north Georgia. Although the treaty ceded significant portions of Cherokee (and disputed Creek) land, it did not come close to meeting the demands of Andrew Pickens and Elijah Clarke, who want all land east of the Chattahoochee River
  Hart County, Georgia
  Stephens County, Georgia
  Banks County, Georgia
  Clarke County, Georgia
  Franklin County, Georgia
  City of Augusta, Georgia
February 25, 1784 Franklin County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Franklin County, Georgia
  Benjamin Franklin
May 29, 1784 A general brawl erupts at the headright distribution for Franklin and Washington County.
  Washington County, Georgia
  Franklin County, Georgia
  Georgia headright grants
July 15, 1784 Because of the huge amount of fraud Georgia's Executive Council suspends the granting of land in Franklin and Washington Counties
  Washington County, Georgia
  Franklin County, Georgia
  Georgia headright grants
December 7, 1807 Carnesville, county seat of Franklin County, is incorporated.
  Franklin County, Georgia
January 1, 1919 Franklin Springs Institute, now Emanuel College, opens in Franklin Springs (Franklin County)
  Franklin County, Georgia

Name derivation: Named in honor of Benjamin Franklin. Franklin, who was one of the earliest advocates of uniting the colonies of Britain, served Georgia while in England as its agent. Surprisingly popular in the state in spite of an anti-slavery stance.
Acquisition: Cherokee and Creek land cessions of 1783 (mostly Creek lands, only the northern extreme of the original boundary was land claimed by the Cherokee. Original county
Taken from: Original county
Counties created from:Barrow County, Georgia, Jackson County, Georgia, Clarke County, Georgia, Oconee County, Georgia, Madison County, Georgia, Hart County, Georgia, Stephens County, Georgia, Banks County, Georgia, Hall County, Georgia, Gwinnett County, Georgia, Habersham County, Georgia, and part of present-day South Carolina
Cities: Carnesville (county seat), Canon, Franklin Springs, Lavonia, Martin, Royston
Web sites:
National Register of Historic Places in Franklin County, Georgia
Franklin County, Georgia, links

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy