Our Georgia History

Habersham County, Georgia
December 15, 1818 Habersham County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Habersham County, Georgia
June 28, 1824 William Tatum Wofford born, near Cornelia (Habersham County), Georgia. This date is sometimes erroneously given as 1823
  Habersham County, Georgia
  William Tatum Wofford
August 1, 1829 First documentary evidence of gold in North Georgia, The Georgia Journal, a newspaper in Milledgeville, prints a report of two mines in Habersham County
  Habersham County, Georgia
June 1, 1830 Hall, Habersham, Carroll, Dekalb and Gwinnett Counties are now responsible for enforcing civil law in the Cherokee Nation, at least as far as the state of Georgia is concerned
  Original Cherokee County
  Hall County, Georgia
  Habersham County, Georgia
  Carroll County, Georgia
  DeKalb County, Georgia
  Gwinnett County, Georgia
June 4, 1926 The Big Red Apple dedicated, Cornelia, Georgia
  Habersham County, Georgia

Name derivation: Named in honor of Joseph Habersham, patriot, member of the "Sons of Liberty," a radical organization that promoted American self-rule, arrested Royal Governor James Wright just before he boarded a ship to the relative safety of Tybee Island, served as Speaker of the House and Postmaster General of the United States
Acquisition: Creek cession of
Taken from: Original county
Counties created from: White County, Georgia
Cities: Clarkesville (county seat), Alto, Baldwin, Cornelia, Demorest, Tallulah Falls
Web sites:
National Register of Historic Places in Habersham County, GeorgiaHabersham County, Georgia, links
Map of Habersham County, Georgia

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy