Our Georgia History

Hancock County, Georgia
December 17, 1793 Hancock County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Hancock County, Georgia
December 3, 1805 City of Sparta, county seat of Hancock County, is incorporated.
  Hancock County, Georgia
October 24, 1819 Governor William Rabun dies following a sudden illness, Powellton, Georgia (Hancock County)
  Hancock County, Georgia
  William Rabun

Name derivation: Named in honor of John Hancock, President of the Second Continental Congress. Hancock approved the committee to write the Declaration of Independence, and was first to sign the document
Acquisition: Creek Indian cession of November 1, 1783
Taken from: Greene County, Georgia, Washington County, Georgia
Counties created from: Taliaferro
Cities: Sparta (county seat)
Web sites:Historic Sparta/Hancock County
National Register of Historic Places in Hancock County, Georgia
Hancock County, Georgia, links
Map of Hancock County, Georgia

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy