Our Georgia History

Irwin County, Georgia
December 15, 1818 Irwin County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Irwin County, Georgia

Name derivation: Named in honor of Jared Irwin, who was elected governor based on a strong stand against the Yazoo Land Act.
Acquisition: Creek cession of August 9, 1814
Taken from: An original county
Counties created from: Ben Hill County, Georgia, Berrien County, Georgia, Coffee County, Georgia, Lowndes County, Georgia, Thomas County, Georgia, Tift County, Georgia, Turner County, Georgia, Wilcox County, Georgia, Worth County, Georgia
Cities: Ocilla (county seat)
Web sites: National Register of Historic Places in Irwin County, Georgia
Irwin County, Georgia, links

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy