Our Georgia History

Jackson County, Georgia
February 11, 1796 Jackson County created
  James Jackson
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Jackson County, Georgia

Name derivation: Named in honor of James Jackson, governor, senator, legislator who returned from Washington D. C. to lead the anti-Yazoo forces in the state.
Acquisition: Cherokee cession, May 31, 1783 and Creek cession, Nov. 1, 1783
Taken from: Franklin County, Georgia
Counties created from: Barrow County, Georgia, Clarke County, Georgia, Madison County, Georgia

Cities: Jefferson (county seat), Arcade, Braselton, Commerce, Hoschton, Maysville, Pendergrass, Talmo

Web sites:National Register of Historic Places in Jackson County, Georgia
Jackson County, Georgia, links
Map of Jackson County, Georgia

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy