Our Georgia History

Jeff Davis County, Georgia
August 9, 1814 Treaty of Fort Jackson, ceding the lower third of Georgia is signed by the Creek
  Jeff Davis County, Georgia
  Atkinson County, Georgia
  Berrien County, Georgia
  Early County, Georgia
  Baker County, Georgia
  Creek Indians
August 22, 1891 City of Hazelhurst incorporated (now county seat of Jeff Davis County)
  Jeff Davis County, Georgia
August 18, 1905 Jeff Davis County created
  Jefferson Davis
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Jeff Davis County, Georgia

Name derivation:Named in honor of Jefferson Davis, President of the Confederate States of America.
Acquisition:Creek cession of 1814
Taken from: Appling and Coffee Counties
Counties created from: None
Cities: Hazlehurst (county seat), Denton
Web sites:National Register of Historic Places in County, Georgia
Jeff Davis County, Georgia, links
Map of Jeff Davis County

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy