Our Georgia History

Jefferson County, Georgia
February 20, 1796 Jefferson County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Jefferson County, Georgia

Name derivation: Named in honor of Thomas Jefferson, the Virginian who penned the Declaration of Independence. He would later serve as President of the United States
Acquisition: Creek land cessions of May 20, 1733, and November 1, 1783,
Taken from: Burke County, GA, Montgomery County, GA, Warren County, GA, and Washington County, GA
Counties created from:
Cities: Louisville (county seat, former state capitol of Georgia, 1796-1806), Avera, Bartow, Stapleton, Wadley, Wrens
Web sites:
National Register of Historic Places in Jefferson County, Georgia
Jefferson County, Georgia, links
Jefferson  County, Georgia

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy