Our Georgia History

Liberty County, Georgia
May 11, 1750 Three Puritans arrive to survey the land between the Ogeechee and Altamaha for possible colonization.
  Liberty County, Georgia
May 16, 1752 Puritans arrive in Georgia from South Carolina
  Liberty County, Georgia
July 11, 1752 First grant of land to Puritans who settlers halfway between the Ogeechee and Altamaha Rivers. They established Midway and received a grant of 31,950 acres of land.
  Liberty County, Georgia
August 6, 1752 Second grant of land to settlers of Midway
  Liberty County, Georgia
June 7, 1754 Puritans hold the first church service at a log cabin on Midway Neck.
  Liberty County, Georgia
March 15, 1758 8 parishes are created in Georgia, mostly for military and religious purposes
  Eight parishes established
  Burke County, Georgia
  Chatham County, Georgia
  Effingham County, Georgia
  Liberty County, Georgia
  Richmond County, Georgia
February 5, 1777 Liberty County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Liberty County, Georgia
November 6, 1796 Nathan Brownson died at his home in Liberty County near the town of Riceboro. He is buried at the Old Midway Cemetery.
  Liberty County, Georgia
February 26, 1823 Joseph LeConte, geologist, founded, along with John Muir, The Sierra Club, born, Liberty County, Georgia
  Liberty County, Georgia
May 7, 2004 Sonny Perdue orders a state of emergency in Georgia related to the G-8 Summit to be held on Sea Island. The order covered 6 Georgia counties, Chatham, Bryan, Libery, McIntosh, Glynn and Camden.
  Glynn County, Georgia
  McIntosh County, Georgia
  Liberty County, Georgia
  Bryan County, Georgia
  Chatham County, Georgia
  Camden County, Georgia
  Sonny Perdue

Name derivation: Named for its early involvement in the American Revolution in Georgia. It was in Liberty County that the first flag of independence was raised in Georgia.
Acquisition: Creek land cession of May 20, 1733
Taken from: Original county; St. John, St. Andrew and St. James before the Revolution.
Counties created from: Long County, GA, McIntosh County, GA
Cities: Hinesville (county seat), Flemington, Riceboro
Web sites:
National Register of Historic Places in Liberty County, Georgia
Liberty County, Georgia, links

History and description: Created in 1777, Liberty is an original Georgia county. Originally inhabited by the Creek Indians, the land that formed Liberty was part of the original Indian cession of 1733. Two of Georgia's signers of the Declaration of Independence lived here: Button Gwinnett and Dr. Lyman Hall. Gwinnett made his home on St. Catherine's island, then a part of St. John's Parish while Dr. Hall called Midway home. Because two of Georgia's three signers were from the county, and a majority of residents were originally at the epicenter of the Revolution, the name Liberty was a natural choice. The county seat is Hinesville.

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy