Our Georgia History

McIntosh County, Georgia
October 18, 1776 All available troops ordered to Darien, Fort Howe, Beard's Bluff and Fort McIntosh to protect the borders of the state
  McIntosh County, Georgia
December 19, 1793 McIntosh County created
  Lachlan McIntosh
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  McIntosh County, Georgia
May 7, 2004 Sonny Perdue orders a state of emergency in Georgia related to the G-8 Summit to be held on Sea Island. The order covered 6 Georgia counties, Chatham, Bryan, Libery, McIntosh, Glynn and Camden.
  Glynn County, Georgia
  McIntosh County, Georgia
  Liberty County, Georgia
  Bryan County, Georgia
  Chatham County, Georgia
  Camden County, Georgia
  Sonny Perdue

Name derivation:Named in honor of Lachlan McIntosh, Continental commander at Valley Forge, Fort Pitt, Savannah and Charleston, taken prisoner of war, later exchanged. Mortally wounded Button Gwinnett in a duel, May 16, 1777. Timeline of Lachlan McIntosh
Taken from:
Counties created from:
Cities: Darien (county seat)

Web sites:National Register of Historic Places in McIntosh County, Georgia
McIntosh County, Georgia, links
Map of McIntosh County,Georgia

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy