Our Georgia History

Murray County, Georgia
May 31, 1540 DeSoto arrives at the headwaters of the Oostanuala River in present Murray County, at a site occupied by Moundbuilders.
  Murray County, Georgia
  Hernando deSoto
November 24, 1832 Start of the sixth land lottery. Georgia did not own the land it was giving to settlers
  Cobb County, Georgia
  Georgia Land Lotteries
  Original Cherokee County
  Gilmer County, Georgia
  Cherokee County, Georgia
  Cass County, Georgia
  Floyd County, Georgia
  Walker County, Georgia
  Union County, Georgia
  Forsyth County, Georgia
  Murray County, Georgia
  Lumpkin County, Georgia
December 3, 1832 Murray County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Original Cherokee County
  Murray County, Georgia

Name derivation: Named in honor of Thomas W. Murray, who served in the Georgia House, elected speaker, and an outspoken advocate of Indian removal.
Acquisition: Treaty of New Echota, 1835
Taken from: Original County
Counties created from: Fannin County, Georgia, Dade County, Georgia, Walker County, Georgia, Catoosa County, Georgia
Cities: Chatsworth (county seat), Eton
Web sites: National Register of Historic Places in Murray County, Georgia
Murray County, Georgia, links
Map of Murray County, Georgia

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy