Our Georgia History

Oglethorpe County, Georgia
December 19, 1793 Oglethorpe County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  James Oglethorpe
  Oglethorpe County, Georgia

Name derivation: Named in honor of James Oglethorpe, who established the colony of Georgia in 1733 Timeline for James Oglethorpe
Taken from:
Counties created from:
Cities: Lexington (county seat), Crawford, Arnoldsville, Maxeys

Web sites:National Register of Historic Places in Oglethorpe County, Georgia
Oglethorpe County, Georgia, links
Map of Oglethorpe County, Georgia

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy