Our Georgia History

Peach County, Georgia
July 18, 1924 Peach County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Peach County, Georgia
April 5, 1957 Tornadoes strike Lamar, Schley, Macon, Peach, Warren, Columbia, Colquitt, Ware, and Chatham counties, killing 2 and injuring 6, with more than a million dollars in damage.
  Colquitt County, Georgia
  Columbia County, Georgia
  Georgia Tornadoes
  Lamar County, Georgia
  Schley County, Georgia
  Macon County, Georgia
  Peach County, Georgia
  Warren County, Georgia
  Ware County, Georgia
  Chatham County, Georgia
August 29, 2005 Tornadoes from hurricane Katrina destroy homes and chicken houses in Carroll County and a motel and businesses in the Helen area of White County. Others injured people in Spaulding County and Peach County
  Carroll County, Georgia
  White County, Georgia
  Hurricane Katrina
  Spalding County, Georgia
  Peach County, Georgia

Name derivation:Named in honor of the peach, a fruit that commonly grows throughout much of Georgia.
Acquisition: Creek cession of Jan. 8, 1821
Taken from:Houstoun and Macon
Counties created from: None (last county created in the state)
Cities: Fort Valley (county seat), Byron
Web sites:
Official County site
National Register of Historic Places in Peach County, Georgia
Peach County, Georgia, links

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy