Our Georgia History

Warner Robbins wins Little League Championship
August 26, 2007 Warner Robbins team wins Little League World Series, defeating Japan by a score of 3-2. It marked the second consecutive year the championship had been won by a team from Georgia.
  Warner Robbins wins Little League Championship

The Little League World Series championship returned to Georgia on Sunday when Warner Robbins defeated Japan in South Williamsport, Pennsylvania. Last year, Columbus, Georgia came home with the title. With Hawaii's win in 2005 it marked the first "three-peat" for the United States since 1964-1966. The last time a Little League team from the same state won back-to-back titles was California in 1992-93. East Marietta won the title in 1983.

Dalton Carriker, a long-ball hitter with a .769 batting average coming into Sunday's championship game, was 0-for-2 with a walk when he came to bat in the eighth. Carriker hit the game-winning home run, a two run blast over the right field fence off Japan reliever Junsho Kiuchi.

Warner Robbins starter Keaton Allen struggled, allowing two runs and four hits while walking two and striking out two. Kendall Scott came out of the bullpen and keeping Warner Robbins in the game. Scott yielded just one hit in 5 2/3 innings, striking out 10 and walking four. Manager Mickey Lay gave the nod to Zane Conlon, who came in for the last out in the eighth and picked up the win.

Japan starter Ryo Kanekubo allowed two runs and three hits in five innings. He struck out eight and walked two.

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy