Our Georgia History

Whitfield County, Georgia
December 21, 1830 The Sixth Georgia Land Lottery, sometimes called the Cherokee Georgia lottery, is authorized by the General Assembly. The major difference between this lottery and the preceding five lotteries is that Georgia did not have a claim to the land it was giving away: The Cherokee had never ceded it.
  Cobb County, Georgia
  Georgia Land Lotteries
  Cherokee County, Georgia
  Lumpkin County, Georgia
  Dawson County, Georgia
  Union County, Georgia
  Whitfield County, Georgia
  Floyd County, Georgia
  Walker County, Georgia
  Cass County, Georgia
December 30, 1851 Whitfield County created
  George Whitefield
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Whitfield County, Georgia
April 12, 1862 The Great Locomotive Chase
  Civil War - 1862
  Western and Atlantic Railroad
  Cobb County, Georgia
  Bartow County, Georgia
  Gordon County, Georgia
  Whitfield County, Georgia
  Catoosa County, Georgia
February 22, 1864 First battle of Dalton
February 27, 1864
  Civil War - 1864
  Whitfield County, Georgia
  William Tecumseh Sherman
May 4, 1864 14 Confederate soldiers who deserted from the Army of Tennessee are shot in Whitfield County outside of Dalton, Georgia
  Whitfield County, Georgia
May 8, 1864 Battle of Rocky Face (Dalton)
May 11, 1864
  Civil War - 1864
  Whitfield County, Georgia
  William Tecumseh Sherman
August 14, 1864 Second battle of Dalton
August 15, 1864
  Civil War - 1864
  Whitfield County, Georgia
  William Tecumseh Sherman
October 18, 1902 East face of Rocky Face Mountain just west of Dalton, Georgia struck by an earthquake
  Whitfield County, Georgia
  Earthquakes that have struck Georgia
March 6, 2007 Eddie Nabors of Dalton, Ga. was one of two winners to share a $390 million Mega Millions jackpot - the largest in U.S. history.
  Georgia Lottery
  Whitfield County, Georgia
March 24, 2007 Lynn Turner is convicted of the murder of Randy Thompson
  Lynn Turner
  Whitfield County, Georgia

Name derivation:Named in honor of George Whitefield, who founded the Bethesda Boys Home and was a prolific preacher.
Acquisition: Treaty of New Echota
Taken from:Murray
Counties created from: Catoosa
Cities: Dalton (county seat), Cohutta, Tunnel Hill,

Web sites:National Register of Historic Places in Whitfield County, Georgia
Whitfield County, Georgia, links
Map of Whitefield County, Georgia

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy