Our Georgia History

Wilcox County, Georgia
December 22, 1857 Wilcox County created
  Creation of Georgia Counties
  Wilcox County, Georgia
September 15, 1883 Abbeville, county seat of Wilcox County, is incorporated
  Wilcox County, Georgia
May 12, 1903 Wilcox County Courthouse is completed, replacing the original 1858 courthouse. The new courthouse was designed by Frank Pierce Milburn
  Wilcox County, Georgia
April 23, 1971 Two waves of storms, which included tornadoes that registered F3 on the Fujita-Pearson scale, swept through Georgia destroying more than a million dollars in property, killing one person and injuring 23. Counties affected were Polk, Gwinnett, Douglas, Dekalb, Carroll, Screven, Paulding, Randolph, Houstoun, Troup, Macon, Dooly, Sumter, Chatham, Lanier, Tattnall, and Wilcox.
  Wilcox County, Georgia
  Douglas County, Georgia
  Georgia Tornadoes

Name derivation: Named in honor of Mark Wilcox, who served in the state legislature and founded the state supreme court
Acquisition: Creek cession of Aug. 9, 1814 and Jan. 22, 1818
Taken from: Dooly County, Irwin County and Pulaski County
Counties created from: Ben Hill County, Turner County
Cities: Abbeville (county seat), Pineview, Pitts and Rochelle
Web sites:National Register of Historic Places in Wilcox County, Georgia
Wilcox County, Georgia, links
Map of Wilcox County, Georgia

Return to Index

FrontHistory 101Early GeorgiaAmerican IndiansSearch

Golden Ink
Georgia's innovative design group

Legal Notice
Privacy Policy